· 

Day 17

On Wednesday the weather was rather unsettled. I had a headache but went to the Scottish Parliament anyway. From the outside, the architecture is really weird. But what surprised me more was the security. I thought that there would be some security, but at the entrance, it was like at the airport. As soon as you get inside, it is kind of like a museum. The debating chamber is spectacular, and there are even some places for some spectators during debates. 

An information sheet was handed out. It's the first time where I noticed some Gaelic. For example, Pàrlamaid na h-Alba means Scottish Parliament, Gàidhlig means Gaelic, taisbeanadh means exhibition, and fiosrachadh means information. There were also some info columns. You can listen to experts talking about very interesting, and very different themes.

The Queen's Gallery is right next to the Parliament. At the moment the Queen's Gallery shows the importance of the relationship between Russia and the United Kingdom. In the beginning, you get an audio-guide with some really interesting inputs. What first comes to my mind when I think back is Queen Victoria and her family. She married a lot of her children and grand-children to the royal family of Russia. If you are interested in art and the history of the relationship between the United Kingdom and Russia I would recommend you to go to the Queen's gallery.